top of page

Graves & Pessac-Léognan Classified

Domaine Profile

The wines of Graves in the wine-growing region of Bordeaux were classified in 1953 by a jury appointed by the Institute National des Appellations d'Origine and approved by the Minister of Agriculture in August of that year. The selection was revised with a few additions in February 1959. The classification concerns both red and white wines, and all chateaux belong to the appellation Pessac-Léognan, which eventually came into effect on September 9, 1987.

16 Crus, all of which belong to the AOC Pessac-Léognan: 7 red, 3 white, 6 red, and white.
Château Haut-Brion, did you know that this is the only Bordeaux wine to be classified twice? It appeared in both the Graves classification and the Grands Crus Classés en 1855.

  • Domaine de Chevalier 

  • Château Haut-Bailly

  • Château Latour-Martillac

  • Château Laville Haut-Brion

  • Château La Mission Haut-Brion 

  • Château Pape Clément

  • Château Smith Haut Lafitte

  • Château La Tour Haut-Brion

bottom of page