Chateau Camensac is perhaps, one of the more obscure, 1855 Classified Growths in the Medoc. The original chateau which is still in use today was constructed in the 18th century. Chateau Camensac was purchased by the Forner family in 1965.
The Forner family first became active in winemaking in Spain, where they own the popular, Marques de Caceres winery. Marques de Caceres is located in the Rioja appellation of Spain. Their experience in the Spanish wine trade proved helpful in knowing what to do next, which was to renovate the estate and replant their vineyards.
They also modified the estates name slightly in 1988 when they changed it from, Chateau de Camensac to just Chateau Camensac.
Chateau Camensac is situated slightly east of the southern tip of St. Julien appellation. In fact, their vineyards are not that far from Chateau Beychevelle. They are also close to other well-known Medoc vineyards including Chateau La Tour Carnet and Chateau Belgrave. The terroir of Chateau Camensac is mostly gravel based soils.
The vineyard is planted to a vine density of 10,000 vines per hectare. The goal is to maintain the average vine age at about 35 years of age. Picking is conducted using a combination of machine harvesting and manual pickers. Since 2016, the property has slowly been converting their farming to organic methods.
Joli Pin de Camensac