top of page

1855 Médoc Classified


Grand Cru Classé refers to the Wine Official Classification of 1855 by the declaration of Emperor Napoleon III, which states that the wines of Bordeaux (other regions followed) should be ranked and given status according to their reputation and/or vineyards which made exceptional wines throughout many years.
The historic 1855 Bordeaux Classification stands as the single most important and famous classification of any wine region in the world. Almost 160 years later, this historic document continues to stand the test of time, with almost no changes. In fact, since 1855, the official classification of Bordeaux wines from the Medoc has only allowed two modifications in almost 160 years!

Chateau Cantemerle was added in 1856, for the simple reason that it was left off by accident in 1855! The more important and historic change came when Chateau Mouton Rothschild was promoted from Second Growth to First Growth status. That took place on June 21, 1973. While some chateaux should be upgraded, and a few others downgraded, by and large, when you think about it, they came close to getting it right in the original 1855 Bordeaux classification.

  • Château​ Lafite Rothschild 

  • Château​ Rausan-Ségla

  • Château Leoville Poyferre

  • Château Gruaud-Larose

  • Château Lascombes

  • Château Brane-Cantenac

  • Château Pichon-Longueville Baron

  • Château Pichon Longueville Comtesse

  • Château Cos-d'Estournel

  • Château Montrose

  • Château Kirwan

  • Château d'Issan

  • Château Lagrange

  • Château Langoa Bartonn

  • Château Giscours

  • Château Malescot-St.-Exupéry

  • Château Boyd-Cantenac

  • Château Palmer

  • Château La Lagune

  • Château Desmirail

  • Château Calon-Ségur

  • Château Ferrière 

  • Château Marquis-d'Alesme-Becker

  • Château Talbot

  • Château Branaire-Ducru

  • Château Duhart-Milon Rothschild

  • Château Pouget

  • Château La Tour Carnet

  • Château Lafon-Rochet

  • Château Beychevelle

  • Château Prieuré-Lichine

  • Château Marquis de Terme

  • Château Pontet-Canet

  • Château Batailley

  • Château Haut-Batailley

  • Château Grand-Puy-Lacoste

  • Château Lynch Bages 

  • Château Lynch-Moussas

  • Château Dauzac 

  • Château d'Armailhac

  • Château du Tertre 

  • Château Haut-Bages Libéral

  • Château Pédesclaux

  • Château Camensac

  • Château Cos Labory

  • Château Clerc Milon

  • Château Croizet-Bages

  • Château Cantemerle 

bottom of page